Rise of hastinapur.jpg

 

I read ‘The Winds of Hastinapur’ before reading this one. The book could be read independently, but it gives you a better understanding of the story if you have read his first book on this subject.

Book : Since it is a female-oriented take on the the epic tale, the reader meets new perspectives. It is fascinating that a same story could be seen, read and understood through different perspectives, still leaving space for new perspectives.

Cover and the blurb :  4/5 for the cover. The blurb is specific and that is a great thing for a reader to decide on whether to buy the book or not.

Plot : There are parts of the story that seemed new. I must admit that I haven’t read too many books on Mahabharata to connect or compare. But, this plot deserves to be read for the love of mythology.

What I liked : The book gives you a deeper look into the lives of Amba, Kunti and Gandhari.

What I disliked : I found it a little difficult to connect the dots at some places. I would have loved it if the book had a family tree or a chart that shows who is who! A brief summary or a synopsis would have helped.

Conclusion : Again, it is good to read this if you love mythology and take a stock of the fresh and new perspective of the immortal epic.

Rating : 4/5

You can buy the book here : http://www.amazon.in/The-Rise-Hastinapur-Sharath-Komarraju/dp/9351773760/ref=pd_bxgy_14_img_2?ie=UTF8&refRID=1RT6PBD1G46KT06QMP0P

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

