Here is an attempt to arrange a rendezvous between two sleuths 🙂 Do let me know if I should continue the story 😉 Will you be interested to read more?


Sometimes, detectives too, have to face their share of trouble.

 You will find your Topshe on a road where discovered checks are not possible. But you may need some help. Who will help you, now? Perhaps a wise man who once said, “Nothing in the world happens without a reason. Lies that hover around the truth are hard to spot.”

Deciphering anonymous letters had always been child’s play for Feluda. He knew that this clue would take him to his cousin, Topshe. Topshe’s sudden disappearance was bothering him very much.

On the other side, Byomkesh too, was concerned about his close associate, Ajit, who had been missing since last evening. While opening the envelope, his heart knew that the letter would take him to Ajit.

“Oh, truth seeker! How can you find me? I am a lie. You don’t have to find me. Find your Ajit. A meeting with the charming legend who broke the Golden Fortress could help, as could these numbers: 6, 5, 12, 21, 11, 5, 19, 8!”

The word Golden Fortress struck a chord. Feluda had made it to all the papers for solving the mystery of the Golden Fortress. Byomkesh opened the telephone directory to find the number of the famous detective Pradosh Mitra, nicknamed Feluda. Just when he was about to make a call, the telephone rang.

‘’Hello? Am I talking to Byomkesh Bakshi?”

“Yes, Byomkesh, it is. Who am I speaking to?”

“Byomkesh babu, I am Pradosh!”

“What a surprise! I was about to make a call to you. Is it concerning a random letter?”

“Yes. My cousin, Topshe is missing. I have a feeling that you could help me!”

“Why not? We both need help. My friend is missing too. This seems like a well-plotted drama!”

The two read out the letters to each other and made formal notes of the same. They decided to talk to each other after a few minutes of brainstorming.

“Well, I think I know the solution to the puzzle,” beamed Byomkesh.

“Is it? I have found something as well!” replied Feluda.

“In the game of chess, the Queen cannot give a discovered check. So, it must be something to do with the Queen. How about the Queen’s Road at Ballygunge?

“Perfecto! Everything seems to connect. The numbers, too. If A stands for 1 and B stands for 2, then those numbers stand for FELUKESH,” said Feluda.

The two reached the spot and were surprised to find Felukesh tea corner at the signal.

“Oh, welcome sleuths! Here, have some chai,’’ said the tea seller.
“Don’t worry, Ajit and Topshe are fine. I am your reader who plotted the meeting to gauge if you could live upto your reputation as problem solvers.”
Ajit and Topshe joined them with some rosagullas while other readers who had assembled to watch, clapped.

“The riddles were well-written,” said Byomkesh.

“So, what next?” asked Feluda as he hugged Topshe.

“Let the case begin,” the reader smiled. The detectives smiled back.

 

